|
NEW 400 WATT KOAC LITMITED EDITION CAR AMP AMPLIFIER SCAM, FRAUD as currently being offered on Ebay. (September 2007) Jan 2010 update. This amp seems to have disapeared from Ebay but I am leaving this page up for a while. However I have noticed an amplifier which looks the same, except for the name, being offered regularly by a UK based Ebayer. I've no intention of buying one but if you do, and it looks the same inside, let me know ! Here's an interesting review: http://www.talkaudio.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=293
|
|||
| This is the amplifier I just bought
on Ebay for £1.24 plus £12.99 postage from Hong Kong. Many
others have also bought them and given positive feedback for the dealer
and the item. But some have realised what they've actually got and given
neg feedback. The seller then gives neg feedback in return.
My guess is that some folks send their feedback immmediately they receive the item - and perhaps regret it later. Others just don't want to risk the neg FB and shrug it off as a lesson learned. Maybe I should too but I think it's wrong that Ebay should allow this kind of trade to continue. |
![]() |
||
|
This amplifier is supplied without a single scrap of
documentation |
|||
|
Here's a view of the inside. The black chip at the top is the entire 'amplifier'. It's just 36mm wide. The other few components are resistors and capacitors which support the chip. The chip is made by Toshiba and is probably intended as the output
amplifier for inexpensive car radios. Toshiba, on their website, rate
the amplifier at 22watts per channel into a 4ohm load with 14.4volts
applied. AT 10% distortion! My guess is that 5 watts per channel
might give acceptable distortion. |
![]() |
||
|
http://prelcoparts.com/datasheets/Prelco%20Toshiba%20Data%20Sheets/TA8210AHQ_ALQ.pdf Note. The link previously given here (up to September 2008) was direct to the Toshiba website but the data sheet appears to have been removed. The link above isto a seller. Or just google "TA8210AHQ" |
|||
| This is a close up of the Toshiba
chip.
The data sheet goes on to state that a good distortion figure, (.o4%) is achieved at 1watt output ! There is no fuse in this amplifier and it would be foolhardy not to include one in the supply line. If anyone were to connect it up and attempt to screw the sort of power they expect the chip would fry. With no fuse the supply wire might burn up causing a fire or it could pass 12v to their valuable speakers and fry them.(even with a fuse this could happen) |
![]() |
||
|
Another warning.. Running an ampifier with too low an output power (for that expected) can cause the amplier to clip. This is another good way to fry a loudspeakers . The amplifier is probably ok for use at low power - perhaps a guitar practice amp, intercom etc. It might make a reasonable headhone amp. Update..I never used mine at all until I finally ran it up in August 2008 with a view to using it as a headphone amp and it was faulty!! Gross distortion at any level. I suppose the case might come in handy for another project. |
|||
|
My own buying experience. The seller shipped the item promptly - It came in about a week, including airmail from Hong Kong. It was simply wrapped in paper and cost $83.3 (Hong Kong) to post. That's about £5 uk. The seller charges £12.99 so there's £8 profit on top of the minimum 99p it cost. Seller therefore got £9.24 in this case and is probably delighted with that. He had completed the Customs declaration, picture here, and declared it's value as $80 which is about £5. He also states that it's a toy! fairly accurate there then. Inside the wrapping, the amp was in a box bearing two different model numbers: V3 and F3. THE FALSE CLAIMS ON EBAY ARE ACTUALLY PRINTED ON THE BOX- with more besides, so it's pretty obvious that it has been manufactured in the first instance especially to deceive. Here is the item description from Ebay: 1) 400 Watts Max Output Power The box adds: 9) Fan Cooling System !, 5, 6, 9 and 10 are simply not true! |
![]() |
||
|
My Homepage
email me if you found this artcle interesting.... address on homepage |
|||